How do I close my account?
We'd appreciate any feedback on how we can keep you as a valued client. Please contact us — we’re here to help if you are experiencing any issues.
If you need to close your account, you can begin the process by logging in to your profile and clicking the “Close account” link. Alternatively, you can withdraw all your funds and select the “Close account” option.
If you have an account balance in your individual retirement account (IRA), you should be aware that there may be taxes and penalties imposed by the IRS for withdrawing funds before the age of 59½.
Once you have begun the account closure process, you will not be able to reopen your account. However, you will be able to log in for three years to access account documents.
You must have a linked bank account and no pending transactions in order to close your account. If you do have pending transactions, please wait until they have been credited to your account before initiating account closure. It typically takes up to 10 business days to complete your withdrawal and close your account. Dividends may be credited to your account in the three months following account closure so please make sure your linked bank account is active. Your bank account will remain linked for this purpose.
If you close your account before March 31, 2019, you will not be charged a fee. Beginning April 1, 2019, if you close your account you will be subject to our fees.